Twelfth Dutch-Belgian Conference on Machine Learning
Benelearn 2002

Utrecht, December 4, 2002

Benelearn is the annual machine learning conference of Belgium and The Netherlands. It serves as a forum for researchers in this field to exchange ideas and present recent work. The official language of the conference is English. Benelearn 2002 will be organized by University Utrecht, Institute of Information and Computing Sciences of the University Utrecht,

Benelearn wants to broaden its focus to disciplines that are closely related to Machine Learning. We invite papers relevant to machine learning and related disciplines in the broadest sense, especially papers that cross borders between disciplines. Possible paper topics include, but are not limited to:

   Applications of Machine Learning   Bayesian Learning 
   Bayesian Networks                  Case-based Learning 
   Computational Learning Theory      Data Mining 
   Evolutionary Computation           Hybrid Learning Systems 
   Graphical Models                   Inductive Learning 
   Inductive Logic Programming        Knowledge Discovery in Databases 
   Language Learning                  Learning and Problem Solving 
   Learning by Analogy                Learning in Multi-Agent Systems 
   Learning in Dynamic Domains        Learning to Search 
   Multistrategy Learning             Neural Networks 
   Reinforcement Learning             Robot Learning 
   Scientific Discovery 

Papers are limited to 8 pages (using a 11pt Times Roman font), including figures, title page, references, and appendices. Style files can be downloaded from the conference web site. The papers will be primarily refereed on their relevance to the conference, and according to clarity and overall quality criteria.

Email submissions are strongly preferred. Please send a PostScript or PDF file to Marco Wiering (

Important Dates:

Deadline for submissions: September 27, 2002
Notification: October 18, 2002
Final version: November 15, 2002
Conference: December 4, 2002

Organizing Committee

Marco Wiering
Walter de Back

Program Committee

Hendrik Blockeel (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, B)
Ad Feelders (Universiteit Utrecht, NL)
Ben Krose (Universiteit van Amsterdam, NL)
Stephan ten Hagen (Universiteit van Amsterdam, NL)
Marcus Hutter (IDSIA, CH)
Martijn van Otterlo (Universiteit van Twente, NL)
Mannes Poel (Universiteit van Twente, NL)
Eric Postma (Universiteit van Maastricht, NL)
Maarten van Someren (Universiteit van Amsterdam, NL)
Dirk Thierens (Universiteit Utrecht, NL)
Katja Verbeeck (Vrije Universiteit Brussels, B)
Nikos Vlassis (Universiteit van Amsterdam, NL)
Marco Wiering (Universiteit Utrecht, NL)

Invited Speaker:

Helge Ritter (Universität Bielefeld, Germany): "Title Unknown"

Further information

Marco Wiering
IS - Intelligent Systems Group
Institute of Information and Computing Sciences
Universiteit Utrecht
Padualaan 14
3508 TB, Utrecht
The Netherlands

Last update: May 16, 2002.